Hell Week

A-MEN!

It’s a rest week from antibiotics. The last 11 days (which, coincidentally were during the week of Christmas) were pure fucking hell.

Pure hell.

I was warned that week #5 was going to suck and boy oh boy, it sucked in royal fashion. I wanted to blog about how bad it was, but it was just easier to lay on the couch and moan to myself about how much I wanted to die. It was particularly upsetting since last week I had the week off work and I was hoping to spend some quality time with my kid. Instead, I spent my week sipping lemon water and hoping that my kid will one day forgive me for being the shittiest parent on the planet.

The level of exhaustion my body felt – it was unlike anything I’ve ever had to endure in my whole life. It’s truly indescribable.

But the very worst thing that happened during this 2 week antibiotic cycle was that I lost my sense of taste.

Yes. You’ve read that right. I have completely lost my ability to taste food. If you follow me on twitter (@raisingmavis) then I apologize for my incessant bitching about this.

The loss of taste was “fun” for the first 6 hours and then it just started to get scary and upsetting. Not to mention the fact that it happened the Friday before Christmas so I couldn’t taste any of the food I was responsible for preparing for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, which was sad. Each and every thing I put in my mouth tastes like sand or dirt. I’m basically surviving off white rice and chicken broth. It’s like I’m living inside my own episode of Survivor over here. The end result: I have lost a total of 12 lbs.

However, it’s not very advisable to take copious amounts of antibiotics with nothing in your stomach. Just saying.

Right now I’m waiting (5 (+) hours…. but who’s counting?) for my LLMD to call me back (his office has been closed since this particular new level of hell started) and tell me what in the fuck is causing this new symptom. I can only figure it’s one of 3 things: Bells Palsy, an unfortunate antibiotic side effect or a Herx from the Lyme leaving my body.

Happily, this morning I woke up feeling 100,000 times better energy wise. Still no sense of taste, but I could at least manage a smile. Ha. That level of energy and happiness was quickly used up after I decided to go on a laundry and cleaning spree. End result: I landed my ass in bed for a 4 hour nap. So there you have it.

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SRB
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 19:38:45

    Dear lord… I cannot fathom not being able to taste. I can only imagine how much that exacerbates how shitty you feel. I am glad you are starting to feel better! Hope you get through to your doc soon so they can tell you WTF/

    Reply

  2. A
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 21:18:48

    Mic, this is crazy. I had no idea that you were going through this. I’ll be reading your updates–glad to see that you’re writing.

    Reply

  3. someday-soon
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 17:00:58

    I’m so sorry you’ve had a crappy streak…and during Christmas too =( K will forget this time and just remember the fun, energetic mom that results when you kick this diseases butt! Hang in there girl.

    Reply

  4. Rebecca
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:42:35

    Omg that’s just insane. Ugh. I really hope you’ve gotten some info from your LLMD at this point and that this is a temporary, though very very bizarre and crazy obnoxiously annoying, side effect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

lifeonkstreet.wordpress.com/

Wife, Mother to a toddler and Infertility Survivor

The Long Dark Hallway

Life after Infertility and now living with Lyme Disease

The Draugelis Blog

Singing in the Raines....now Pax, too.

Life of a Leo

This is my life, I go by many names: mommy, military wife, daughter, best friend... welcome to my world!

Hoping For a Baby

My journey through infertilty treatments

Run Amok Amok

life - liberty - and the pursuit of trying not to lose my mind

A child to call me mama

a blog about infertility and endometriosis...and now adoption and parenthood!

B a b y B o u n d

Suck it, infertility... .i..

