My Lyme PSA

I haven’t been as “out” about my Lyme Diagnosis as I was when I was diagnosed with Infertility. I think I’m just tired of announcing to the world that I am a chronically ill person and then having to explain another misunderstood diagnosis to someone who’s going to ask stupid questions.

I realize that this is an incredibly selfish attitude to have – but I’m tired. Tired of being a patient advocate. I’ve been doing this in one way or another for over 5 years and I just don’t have it in me anymore.

Here’s a good example of why I don’t tell people I have Lyme. Because every stinking person I’ve told has made the same comment when they hear about antibiotic treatment. Each person says “oh, I hope you are taking good probiotics!”
I’m soooooooooo glad everyone is so damn concerned about the state of my digestive system.
I’m a pretty uptight person when it comes to bathroom habits so this is doubly irritating for me.

So here is my PSA – if you meet someone with Lyme – don’t fucking ask about their probiotic use. I can assure you it’s being addressed by the physician that is prescribing mega doses of medications.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KeAnne
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 18:15:55

    Ugh. Sounds like something my MIL would suggest. Is asking about probiotics the equivalent of “just relax”? I thought of you over the weekend when I read the article in Time about controlling animal populations, especially deer because of their Lyme disease risk. Durham has enacted a bow hunting law withing the city limits to help control the deer population. I hope you feel better soon and I’m so sorry you have to go through this 😦

    Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 17:38:22

    I had the same thought as KeAnne — it’s like “just relax.” Ugh. How annoying.

    Reply

  3. someday-soon
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 19:19:01

    I’m sorry Mic! From one irritating health issue to the next it seems that people still don’t know how to shut up {{{HUGS}}}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

lifeonkstreet.wordpress.com/

Wife, Mother to a toddler and Infertility Survivor

The Long Dark Hallway

Life after Infertility and now living with Lyme Disease

The Draugelis Blog

Singing in the Raines....now Pax, too.

Life of a Leo

This is my life, I go by many names: mommy, military wife, daughter, best friend... welcome to my world!

Hoping For a Baby

My journey through infertilty treatments

Run Amok Amok

life - liberty - and the pursuit of trying not to lose my mind

A child to call me mama

a blog about infertility and endometriosis...and now adoption and parenthood!

B a b y B o u n d

Suck it, infertility... .i..

